Final tally of local by-election changes for 2013 sees the Tories as the main losers

Final tally of local by-election changes for 2013 sees the Tories as the main losers

Conservative GAINS

From Labour: Leashowe and Moreton East (Wirral), Earls Barton (Wellingborough), Disraeli (Wycombe), Arbury (Nuneaton and Bedworth)
From Liberal Democrat: Warden Hill (Cheltenham), Chase (Malvern Hills), Balsham (South Cambridgeshire), Sunbury East (Spelthorne), Greendown (Vale of the White Horse), Beverley (Kingston upon Thames), Maybury and Sheerwater (Woking), Comberton (South Cambridgeshire), Iver Village and Richings Park (South Buckinghamshire)
From United Kingdom Independence Party: St. Mary’s (Worcestershire)
From Independents: Sawton (South Cambridgeshire), Newby (Scarborough)
From Others: Firthville from East Lindsey Independents (East Lindsey)

Labour GAINS

From Conservative: Woolaston and Stourbridge Town (Dudley), Pensby and Thingwall (Wirral), Kingswell (Gedling), Streonshalh (Scarborough), Cam East (Stroud), Wilnecote (Tamworth), Melcombe Regis (Weymouth and Portland), Wollaton West (Nottingham), Liversedge and Gomersal (Kirklees), Newtown (Dartford), Southway (Plymouth), Cleadon and East Boldon (South Tyneside), Bracebridge (Lincoln), Ramshill (Scarborough), Shepshed West (Charnwood)
From Liberal Democrat: Junction (Islington), Alexandra (Ipswich), Shepton West (Mendip), North (Oxford), Eastfield (Scarborough)
From Scottish National Party: Rutherglen South (South Lanarkshire), Liberton and Gilmerton (Edinburgh), Govan (Glasgow), Hamilton South (South Lanarkshire)
From Green: Abbey (Cambridge), Hanover and Elm Grove (Brighton and Hove)
From United Kingdom Independence Party: Thetford West (Norfolk)
From Independents: Seaton (Allerdale), Seaton (Cumbria)
From Others: Chapel St. Leonards from East Lindsey Independents (East Lindsey), Swanscombe from Ratepayers (Dartford)

Liberal Democrat GAINS

From Conservative: Cromer Town (North Norfolk), Aldwick East (Arun), Lodbourne (North Dorset), Orwell and Barrington (South Cambridgeshire), Howick and Priory (South Ribble), Abingdon, Peachcroft (Vale of the White Horse), Aylsham (Broadland), Abingdon, Fitzharris (Vale of the White Horse), Littlemoor (Ribble Valley), Dalston (Carlisle), Scotter Rural (Lincolnshire)
From Labour: Adeysfield West (Dacorum), Golcar (Kirklees)
From Independents: Broomfield and the Walthams (Chelmsford), Wadebridge East (Cornwall),
From Others:

Plaid Cymru GAINS

Scottish National Party GAINS


From Liberal Democrat: Torrington (Torridge)


From Conservative: Foxhills (Runnymede), Gooshays (Havering), Humberston and New Waltham (North East Lincolnshire), Southlands (Adur), Wickford, Castledon (Basildon), Staniland South (Boston), Waltham Abbey, Honey Lane (Epping Forest), Bromsberrow and Dymock (Forest of Dean), Cliftonville East (Thanet), Seasalter (Canterbury)
From Labour: Rawmarsh (Rotherham), Crockenhill and Well Hill (Sevenoaks)
From Liberal Democrat: Coninsby and Tattersall (East Lindsey), Watlington (King’s Lynn and West Norfolk)
From Others: Fenside from English Democrats (Boston)

Independent GAINS

From Conservative: Feniton and Buckerell (East Devon), Watton at Stone (East Hertfordshire), Chertsey Town and Row Town (Runnymede), Esk Valley (Scarborough), Caerhun (Conwy), Weston Super Mare North and Worle (North Somerset), Dunstable, Northfields (Central Bedfordshire)
From Liberal Democrat: Newport (Uttlesford), Exning (Forest Heath)
From Scottish National Party: Heldon and Laich (Moray), Landward, Caithness (Highland),


From Conservative: Liberal GAIN Pickering East (Ryedale), It’s Our County GAIN Pontrilas (Herefordshire), South Woodham Ferrers Independents GAIN South Woodham, Elmwood and Woodville (Chelmsford), Non Party Independent GAIN Scotter (West Lindsey)
From Green: Ratepayers GAIN Whitwell (Bolsover)
From United Kingdom Independence Party: Kidderminster Hospital and Health Concern GAIN Stourport on Seven (Worcestershire)
From Independents: Stoke City Independents GAIN Baddley, Milton and North (Stoke on Trent)

Overall Tallies

Others Breakdown:
Scottish Nationalists -6, Independents -4, Greens -3, Plaid Cymru unchanged, Others +3, United Kingdom Independence Party +12

Harry Hayfield

Comments are closed.